top of page

Identity Crisis



See I wanted to see myself,


I sat in front of the mirror just to see a reflection of myself,


See all I saw was an indecisive character,


With an aversion to taking risks and stepping out of my comfort zone,


The vision blurred with every single glance,


See all I saw was an identity crisis,


A misfit trying to fit in,


And,


With a second glance an Eagle amongst chicken.



Tired of the reflection, 


I heard a voice say,


Clean up your mirror and,


Take a second look,


See I had to take a leap of faith,


To lean on the direction offered by this voice,


I finessed about wisdom,


Though I was not wise enough to rescue my very own image,


My IDENTITY.



Every spot that faded on my mirror,


My reflection was clearer,


 I saw a vulnerable soul journeying towards greatness,


Beautiful and bountiful soul surrounded by doubt,


See I saw a crown awaiting a queen, 


Only that she wasn't ready to take the throne,



The illusions and notions created, 


Societal structures have informed our self-reflections,


Like my blurry reflection of myself, 


We have no identity,


Suffering from signalling syndrome,


We lead a dissatisfied life,


Hoping the next job, partner, the degree will resolve our crisis,



This ain't no disaster, 


But a state of emergency,


Numb and mute the voices that lead to your delusions,


Dust off your mirror and have a look again,


You will see the true definition of beauty on Fleek,


See their opinion, contempt and illusion don't define you,


But your identity is a masterpiece with a higher calling,


An Eagle that hangs around chickens will never SOAR,


FREE THE EAGLE. 

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page